top of page

The 2023 HOPE College Leadership Program application has closed. 

HOPE College Leadership Program

The HOPE College Leadership Program is a hybrid leadership development program that fosters a network of support for College Latinas to ensure they have the resources necessary to complete college, enter the workforce, and contribute to their communities. The goal of the program is increased graduation rates, soft skill development, and successful workforce integration.

 

Launched in 2016, the program has engaged 340 participants to date. The HCLP has a college completion rate of 63% within 5 years, compared to the national average of 58% within 6 years.

Qualifications:

  • Latina (self-identified as being Latina)

  • Must come from low-income or underserved community

  • Currently enrolled as an undergraduate college student or graduate student

  • Must be between 18-24 years old

  • The program is geared towards First Generation college students (parents are not college grads), but all are encouraged to apply regardless of meeting this criteria

  • Must have a demonstrated commitment to community

  • Must submit a complete application packet for consideration

  • Participants from HOPE’s key priority areas are encouraged to apply: Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Illinois, New Mexico,  New York, or Texas

Commitment: 

  • Must attend the Young Professionals Summit in the Fall of 2023. Travel assistance will be available for those traveling over 100 miles

  • Must participate in all bi-monthly webinars

  • Complete individual and/or group assignments

  • Expected to advocate on behalf of Latinas

  • Contribute to Friends of HOPE Network

  • Volunteer or intern with HOPE

Cost: 

HCLP is tuition-free. HOPE will cover the registration cost for the mandatory Young Professionals Summit and will provide flight vouchers/travel reimbursements for students traveling more than 100 miles (adhering to future COVID-19 protocols). Participants are expected to pay other conference registration fees & transportation costs.

Application Requirements & Timeline: 

Students have the option of applying to one of two cohorts based on their regional location. Both cohorts will begin training sessions the last week of May and scheduled in accordance with Pacific Standard Time. 

Cohort 1 will meet Tuesdays biweekly 6pm - 8pm PST/ 9pm - 11pm EST & Cohort 2 will meet Thursdays biweekly 3pm - 5pm PST/ 6pm - 8pm EST. 

 Cohort 1 
6PM PST/9PM EST

Cohort 2
3PM PST/6PM EST

The following are required as part of your application: 

  • Application Profile

  • Headshot (preferably high resolution .png or .jpeg). No selfies are accepted.

  • Short Bio (in 3rd person highlighting your academic accomplishments)

  • Short Response Questions

  • Participant Agreement

Timeline for application:

  • Application Opens: February 18, 2023

  • Application Deadline: April 28, 2023

  • Accepted students notified by April 2023

  • Program sessions begin: May 2023

Scholarship: 

To further support the educational attainment of Latinas, HOPE will invite participants that meet all program requirements to apply for a $1,000 scholarship.

Program Components

Virtual Training Sessions

Virtual training sessions that build the soft skills most desired by today's workforce, including time management, problem-solving, effective communications, teamwork, leadership, among others.

OP-ED Civics Project

The 2023 project will focus on enhancing the civic participation of college students. Program participants will be tasked with drafting an op-ed about a specific policy issue in their communities.

Young Professionals Summit

YP Summit gathers college students from across the country for a professional development conference. Scholars will have the opportunity to serve on the planning committee.

GET IN
TOUCH

For questions or more information on the HOPE College Leadership Program contact:

Lauren Salaiz
Youth Program Manager

(213) 223-5428
lsalaiz@latinas.org 

bottom of page